Comparison

Cursor vs GitHub Copilot: AI Coding Assistants Compared

Cursor is an AI-native code editor with an agent built in; GitHub Copilot is an AI assistant that lives inside editors you already use and inside GitHub pull requests. This comparison lays out their plans, limits and documented features side by side, from the vendors' official pages, so you can see which fits the way your team works.

Last verified

Who this is for

Individual developers choosing a daily driver, and engineering leads deciding what to roll out to a team, especially teams already on GitHub or already standardised on a particular editor.

On small screens, scroll the table sideways to see every product.

Cursor vs GitHub Copilot: AI Coding Assistants Compared: criteria compared across 2 products
Criterion
Pricing (verified)From each tool's verified plans, with the date SIDAN checked them.Free plan available; listed paid plans from USD 8 per month; other plans: check official pricingChecked October 24, 2026Free plan available; listed paid plans from USD 10 per month; other plans: check official pricingChecked October 24, 2026
Pricing modelPer-user subscription tiers; higher tiers multiply a shared AI usage poolPer-user subscription with a monthly AI-credit allowance plus a flex amount (1 AI credit = USD 0.01 per the vendor FAQ)
Free planYes: limited AI usage, limited agent and chat requestsYes: 2,000 inline suggestions a month, limited chat and agent usage, entry-level models
Individual paid plans (as listed 24 Oct 2026)Plus USD 8, Premium USD 30, Super USD 100, Ultra USD 200 per month (Premium is 4x Plus usage, Super 15x, Ultra 50x)Pro USD 10, Pro+ USD 39, Max USD 100 per month (base credits USD 10 / 39 / 100 plus flex USD 5 / 31 / 100)
Team or organization plansTeams shown as 'from USD 30 per user per month' (no single price stated); Enterprise customBusiness and Enterprise plans exist; prices not stated on the pages checked
Where it runsCursor's own editor (desktop) plus cloud agents listed on the pricing pageInside VS Code, JetBrains and other supported editors, GitHub.com and pull requests
Documented limitationsWeekly usage cap per plan; third-party models billed at API list price on Premium and aboveFeatures depend on plan, client and organization policy; pooled usage not on individual plans
Integrations named by the vendorGitHub, GitLab, Azure DevOps, Bitbucket, JetBrainsGitHub, MCP servers, third-party coding agents

Strengths, weaknesses and best fit

Cursor

AI-powered code editor and coding agent that can explain a codebase, plan and implement changes, fix bugs and review diffs, with a choice of models from several providers.

Strengths

Agent and Plan Mode for multi-step tasks; choice of models from several providers; plugins, rules and MCP support; diff review before merging

Weaknesses

AI usage capped per plan and refreshed weekly; third-party models billed separately at API list price on Premium and above; Free plan has limited agent and chat requests

Best for

Developers who want an agent-first editor and accept usage caps in exchange for model choice

GitHub Copilot

GitHub's AI assistant for writing, understanding and shipping code, with inline suggestions, chat, agent workflows and pull request review built into GitHub.

Strengths

Works inside existing editors and GitHub pull requests; Free plan to try; fixed AI-credit allowance plus flex on paid plans; custom instructions, prompts and agents

Weaknesses

Free plan limited to 2,000 completions a month and entry-level models; available features depend on plan, client and organization policy; pooled usage not included on individual plans

Best for

Teams already on GitHub who want assistance in their current editor and in code review

Which to choose, by scenario

You live in VS Code or JetBrains and your code is on GitHub: Copilot adds suggestions, chat and pull-request review without changing your editor; its Free plan (2,000 inline suggestions a month, limited chat) is enough to find out whether you use it.

You want an agent that plans and executes multi-step changes in its own editor: Cursor is built around that workflow; start on Free or Plus (USD 8 per month) and move up only when the weekly usage cap gets in the way.

You are budgeting for a team: Copilot's individual plans include a fixed AI-credit allowance plus a flex amount; Cursor's higher tiers multiply a shared usage pool and bill third-party models separately at API list price on Premium and above. Model the usage you expect before comparing the headline prices.

You need organization policy, audit and admin controls: both vendors describe these for business and enterprise tiers whose prices are not public; ask for a quote and compare the written terms rather than the marketing pages.

Conclusion

Neither tool is a universal winner. Copilot fits teams that want AI inside GitHub and their existing editor with predictable per-user pricing; Cursor fits people who want an agent-first editor and are willing to manage usage caps. Confirm the current plan limits on each pricing page before buying; both change often.

How we compared

Research-based comparison. Every figure comes from the vendors' official pricing and documentation pages, recorded as plans in the SIDAN Stack catalog with the date checked; the pricing row above is generated from those verified records and shows currency, unit and billing period exactly as published. We have not tested these products hands-on. Vendor claims are attributed; our own assessment is marked as such. Where a page did not state something plainly, the cell says so instead of guessing. Both vendors show prices with a "$" sign on their US pages; they are recorded as USD with that note.

This comparison is research-based: it is built from the vendors' official pages, documentation and the sources listed below. SIDAN Stack has not tested these products hands-on unless the text says so, and nothing here is scored or ranked. How we research.

Alternatives and related guides

Buying guide

How to Choose an AI Coding Assistant for Your Team

Choose an AI coding assistant by first deciding the form your team needs (plugin, AI-native editor, agent or pull-request reviewer), then comparing pricing models (allowances, credits or activity caps), documented privacy and admin controls, and team versus individual tiers, before running a short measured pilot. This research-based guide applies that method to Cursor, GitHub Copilot, Windsurf (now Devin Desktop) and CodeRabbit using official pages as listed on 24 October 2026, with a scoring template and recommendations by team type rather than a single winner.

· SIDAN Editorial
Tutorial

How to Evaluate a Software Free Plan Before You Depend on It

To evaluate a software free plan, first decide whether it is a permanent plan, a time-limited trial or a credit grant; then convert its caps into your expected usage, check seat limits, find out what happens when you exceed a limit, review history retention and export, read the terms of use, map security features to tiers and price the first paid tier. This guide applies those steps to free plans recorded from official pages on 24 October 2026, including Firecrawl, Apify, Zapier, Supabase, Vercel, Notion, GitHub Copilot and Cursor.

· SIDAN Editorial

Sources

  1. Cursor pricingPricing pageCursor plan names, prices, usage multipliers and Teams wordingChecked
  2. Cursor documentationDocumentationAgent, Plan Mode, plugins and integrationsChecked
  3. GitHub Copilot plansPricing pageCopilot plan names, prices, credit allowances and Free plan limitsChecked
  4. What is GitHub CopilotDocumentationWhere Copilot runs and its documented featuresChecked

Last verified . Vendors change their products and prices; confirm details on the official pages before buying.